USATF Racewalk Committee General Session Friday, December 2, 2022 Orlando, Florida

Meeting called to order at 2:04 pm

Roll Call

Attendees

Voting Members: Elizabeth Bruening (WI), Jo Burrows (Exec.), David Clark (KY), Rosie Cullins (Gulf), Ron Daniel (CT), Mark Dennett (Maine), Kirsten Erickson (UT), Donna Funkhouser (VA), Ngozi Fitzpatrick (Three Rivers), Barb Hensley (Ohio), David Gingera (Mid Atlantic), Diane Graham-Henry (Exec), Diane Kinney (WV), Justin Kuo (New England), Joan LaBadie (Southern), Don Lawrence (NY), John Martin (AZ), Steve Mulleney (SC), Darlene Murrey, (South Western), Cassandra Osterloh (NM), Dan Pierce (Exec), Richard Robert (Exec) Ron Salvio (NJ), LaTunia Sharks (GA), Brian Shedle (Ozark),), Liz Shepard (CO), Charlette Sneed (Pacific), Tracy Sundlund (S.D.), Marie VerMeer (Oregon) Ken Vogt (Erie)

Athlete Delegates: Josh Awotunde, Janelle Branch, Katie Burnett, Stephanie Casey, Jordan Gray, Garrett Heath, Jevon Hutchison, Lynna Irby, Kibwe Johnson Matt Ludwig, Ashton Mahler, Michael Mannozzi, Makenna Myler, Daniel Nixon, Roy Pirrunta, David Ribich, John Cody Risch, Robyn Stevens, Jere Summers-Hall, Gabby Thomas, Jared Ward (22)

Non-Voting Attendees: Pam Allie-Monier, Deb Bridges, Ray Funkhouser, Leeanne Gray, Wanda Gregory, Mary Jananock, , Dale Jensen, Pam Lee, Liz Mahony, Aysha Mirza, Gary Morgan, Joel Pearson, Annie Stanley, Josiah Winchenbach

Note: As pursuant with USATF Annual Meeting general practice, not all attendees were present for full meeting. However, all votes were taken in accordance with the requisite athlete delegates present and full quorum of members.

Intro from Vin Lananna- 25 minutes

Voting Items (each discussion was limited to 15 minutes maximum before the vote and each individual was limited to 2 minutes to speak if desired)

1. Dan Pierce-Rules

a. Amend rule 30.1(g) as follows:

The Chief Judge will serve as the Referee and Chief Umpire if none is assigned. The judges will serve as Umpires if ((none)) an insufficient number are assigned Rationale: As currently written Rule 230.1(g) only allows the Race Walk Judges to act as Umpires if no Umpires are assigned to the Walks. There have been competitions where 2 to 4 Umpires have been assigned to the Race Walks leaving too few Umpires on the track and too few at the Race Walks. This proposal would help alleviate this type of situation.

Discussion: Insufficient was purposely left vague to ensure race directors and head judges could determine the appropriate number to cover the course selected for the competition.

Marie Vermeer motioned to accept rule 30.1g amendment as written above Motion Passed Unanimously

b. Amend rule 25.1(a) as follows:

NOTE: Outdoor Championships events stated in metric distances may be held on a track or road course or both in any given year for each distance.

Discussion: Adding this note simply aligns the rulebook with our current practice and allows more opportunities for races each year.

Solomiya motioned to accept amendment to rule 25.1(a) as written above Motion passed unanimously

2. Approval of 2021 Minutes

a. Minutes presented by Janelle. Ed motioned to approve the 2021 minutes as written. Motion passed.

3. Approval of 2023 Standards:

- a. Some discussion was held regarding the merits of easier versus harder entry standards for the national championship events. Additional clarification was made that the standards presented were discussed in great detail by the executive committee and the same conversations had been had in those meetings over the past several months.
- b. The 15 minutes of discussion timed out right as Willie Banks came to campaign for his re-election to the world athletics council. Many athletes had to return to the AAC vote. However athletes returned before the end of the session and Liz Shepard motioned to approve the 2023 standards. The motion passed.

Non-Voting Items

Officer Reports

Several Officer Reports had been published to the documents library and the rest will be uploaded as they become available. Ray Funkhouser presented legislation changes to be voted on in the full USATF annual meeting, not just related to racewalk. Discussion was held on the coach's list created by the committee this year. List cannot be published due to privacy of coaches, but anyone can ask an executive committee member and they will facilitate connection between potential coach and athlete.

Awards

Mike Riban Individual Contributor Lifetime Award Winner: Tim Seaman Mike Riban Outstanding Association Award Winner: San Diego Association Henry Laskau U20 Male Athlete of the Year: Ryan Allan Henry Laskau U20 Female Athlete of the Year: Angelica Harris Captain Ron Zinn Male Athlete of the Year: Nick Christie Captain Ron Zinn Female Athlete of the Year: Robyn Stevens Chair Awards:

- Tracy Sundland
- Erin Taylor-Talcott
- David Talcott
- Tim Seaman & San Diego Association
- Jeff Salvage
- David Herriman
- Gary Westerfield
- Maureen Pollock
- Goetez Kfopfer

Adjourn

Ed motioned to adjourn Seconded by Janelle Motion Passed

Meeting adjourned at 4:56 pm